Homemade Bread


wpid-img_20150914_211836.jpg

This is the third time I made this bread recipe, I was dying to share this recipe for a while now. I tried again couple of times to confirm and it turned out great every time.  So it took some time to post it. Bread is very soft and a very tasty. when first time I made this one I was amazed. My hubby and son Also loved it. Hubby was telling now no need to buy bread from shop. Oh! I was so much happy at that time. I used the leftovers to make Bread Pudding. This is a very easy recipe and the ingredients also you can easily find in your pantry. I got this recipe from here. Only change I made was reduce the water a bit.

wpid-20150914_205825-1.jpg

makes one loaf.

Ingredients

  • Luke warm water          1 1/4 cup
  • Sugar                            1/8  cup
  • Yeast                             2 1/4 tsp
  • Oil                                  40 ml  [1/6 cup]
  • Salt                                1 1/2 tsp
  • All purpose flour            3 1/2 cup

In a mixing bowl dissolve yeast in warm water and sugar. Let sit for 10-15 minutes. Add in oil.

Mix the flour and salt together, add the flour in to the yeast mixture and mix well.

knead the dough well for at least 10 minutes until all are well combined. again knead for few minutes finally you will get a very smooth, soft and little sticky [not that much] dough.

Now cover the dough with a dish towel or plastic wrap and keep it in a warm place until doubled in size. It may take 1 hour or more depending on the room temperature. Mine rise quickly cause here too much hot in Qatar.

After it rise punch the dough down [my favourite part], and form a loaf. Place the loaf in a greased bread pan [ i am using 9″ × 5″ Pan] and cover with a buttered plastic wrap, let it to rise till the top of the dough is  two inch above the bread pan or looks like a good shaped loaf.

To make a loaf , form  a rectangle shape by pressing it down or with a rolling pin. then roll the rectangle up like a cinnamon roll. tuck the ends under.

wpid-img_20150914_224419.jpg                wpid-img_20150914_224553.jpg              wpid-img_20150914_224702.jpg

Bake at 375ºF/190ºC for 25 minutes. Remove the Loaf from pan immediately and place it on a wire rack to cool down. now you can slice the bread and serve.

wpid-img_20150914_231921.jpg

Notes

Slice the bread only after it cool down.

If you want to speed up the rising process,keep the dough inside the oven and switch on for 1 minute and off.

If you want a crusty top you can bake it for 10 more minutes.

remember to grease the pan, today I forgot and it did cost me.

5 thoughts on “Homemade Bread

  1. Am going to try this as just yesterday my kids said my garlic bread rolls did not come out perfectly! I noticed in ur recipe, although it uses the same ingredients that i do, the quantities were different so that might help with the softness issue with my rolls!☺

    Like

Leave a Reply

